Best Picture Thoughts

Oscar season is already upon us; that is, a lot of movies are released from now until the end of the year with the intention of contending for the most prestigious award in cinema. Therefore, I thought it would be appropriate for me to give my thoughts on past Best Picture winners. I’ve already reviewed some of them for this blog as you will notice, but there are also some that I haven’t seen. To continue with the theme from my last post, I’ll start from 1994 and work my way forward.

Forrest Gump (1994): This movie is the quintessential definition of “fine.” Tom Hanks has a terrible and annoying accent, but he’s still easy to root for. I just wish it was 30 minutes shorter.

Braveheart (1995): If there’s one thing we know Mel Gibson can do, it’s direct action. I wasn’t blown away by the first viewing, but it’s still a passable film (which is more than I can say for some of the others).

The English Patient (1996): Haven’t seen, but I’ve only heard terms like “boring” and “sleep-inducing.” Yeah, I’m in no rush.

Titanic (1997): This would be an all-time classic if it wasn’t so freaking long! DiCaprio and Winslet do make one convincing couple and the music (aside from Celine Dion) is beautiful and moving.

Shakespeare in Love (1998): Sigh…you already know what film I think deserved to win instead. An inconsistent piece of garbage that only has one decent performance in Paltrow.

American Beauty (1999): There’s much more under the surface with this one. American Beauty is a well-crafted satire on the middle class and our perception of beauty. Worth watching even if it’s just the one time.

Gladiator (2000): Now this is one I would watch multiple times if that means anything. Epic, quotable, and full of villainous Joaquin Phoenix, I rate Gladiator higher than most people.

A Beautiful Mind (2001): Haven’t seen and only heard mixed reviews. This would be the first one I watch next because who doesn’t love Jennifer Connelly?

Chicago (2002): Haven’t seen, but I also haven’t heard much praise for it either. Not high on my list at all.

The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003): Finally, a popular movie wins! An overall blend of fun and excitement, with huge action sequences and compelling characters to boot; the only thing holding it back is the multiple endings.

Million Dollar Baby (2004): It’s typical Eastwood if that interests you. Boring as hell with an insanely depressing second half, I’m more interested in the introduction of Mike Colter (Luke Cage) to Hollywood than I am the actual movie.

Crash (2005): Emotionally manipulative and confusing, Crash starts out with good intentions but fails due to poor execution. The character development and subsequent resolutions might be the worst of its kind.

The Departed (2006): If you just want a well-acted and intriguing crime drama, The Departed is just right for you. I may not like Scorsese as much as the next guy, but I think this is one of his better works.

No Country for Old Men (2007): I probably need to watch it again, but this film wasn’t as engaging as I thought. Javier Bardem is outstanding no matter what.

Slumdog Millionaire (2008): We all need a feel-good movie every now and then, right? However, nothing really stands out and the main character’s luck is simply unbelievable.

The Hurt Locker (2009): I might have been a little harsh because this film did show audiences that a female director could make a successful war movie. It’s still boring though.

The King’s Speech (2010): A good not great movie that rests solely on Colin Firth’s brilliant performance.

The Artist (2011): Haven’t seen, maybe because I’m not a huge fan of silent films. I’m sure I’ll get around to watching it at some point, but I’m in no rush.

Argo (2012): Ben Affleck, I’m sorry, I love Gone Baby Gone, but this film has none of the same compelling elements.

12 Years a Slave (2013): An incredibly moving film that shows the triumph of the human spirit, I was floored the first time I saw it. The trio of amazing performances (Ejiofor, Fassbender, Nyong’o) only heightens its quality.

Birdman (2014): With its innovative cinematography, Birdman is an achievement in filmmaking and that’s saying something. I highly recommend it.

Spotlight (2015): No love for Fury Road? All joking aside, this movie is genius because it feels more like a documentary than a Hollywood dramatization of a true story. Sure, you have stars like Keaton, Ruffalo, and McAdams, but they don’t stand out individually. The film shines a spotlight (no pun intended) on something that most of us probably don’t know much about. It’s powerful, necessary, and well worth your time.

Leave a comment